Sapphire King
2 min readSep 16, 2021

--

How Steve from Blues Clues Gave Me The Closure I Didn’t Know I Needed

Recently a video surfaced of Steve addressing his, now adult fan base, about his departure from the popular show Blues Clues. You can watch it here.

I remember waking up before school and jumping around my living room while my mother wrestled my school clothes on.

My 6 year old self emerged instantly when I seen Steve come across my instagram reels.

Even now 20 Odd years later Steve managed to come across the screen as if he was speaking to me personally.

He addressed how his last episode on air was him telling us he was going away and then we never seen him again. He understood how that wasn’t the best approach and I’m not ashamed to admit that it had me bawling.

He came across so sincere and genuine and I didn’t realize that my six year old self wanted that closure.

I didn’t watch Blue’s Clues anymore after he left. The new guy Joe was great and my younger siblings loved him but my heart remained with Steve and the connection that was made through his version of the show bringing happiness to my mornings.

It made me realize that there may be so many other things that have affected us in the same way and we don’t even realize it.

I was shocked to see hundreds of thousands of other people commenting how the short video moved them to tears as well.

Steve, man, just know that you are loved by millions and will forever hold a special place in my heart. You were my childhood.

--

--